Taking medication for anxiety

In this case, the drugs do seem to be working.  I have been taking Citralopram 20mg a day.  At first the only effect was feeling sick.  I was sceptical it would work, since the packet suggests its only for people with depression.  But to be quite honest I was so desperate to get better that I would have tried anything.  After about 6 weeks I started to notice that sometimes I could think more clearly and was a lot more calm.  I don’t feel like I’m on something or drugged or drowsy, so the effects seem to be subtle.

Just looked up the spelling of Citralopram and noticed that there may be side effects following withdrawal – another little something to worry about!

2 thoughts on “Taking medication for anxiety

  1. Hi!

    I have just started to suffer from GAD two months ago and I am facing the difficult decision of taking medication. I really want to because I am exhausted and I feel like I can’t pursue a recovery program whether through CBT or Mindfulness (mine starts in September). My life is completely disturbed, I spend all day stressing about my anxiety and feeling tired with getting better fast. I also can’t sleep, which probably worsens everything. I don’t think medication is a long term solution to GAD, but a temporary measure….at the same time, I have people in my life who think taking anti-depress is a mortal sin. Please advise, based on your experience.

    How long you planning to take it for?
    Has it helped you recover a bit of your confidence?

    Please help.

    Joanna

    • Hi Joanna
      I’m so sorry to hear that you are suffering so much, it is awful. I cannot advise you, but I can tell you that I believe that deep down you know what the right course of action is for you. The answer is in your bones, trust yourself, who knows that might be the way to growing confidence!

      I did decide to take medication. I’m not sure exactly what it did, but I think it did help. It didn’t turn me into a zombie, or make me weird or drowsy, but I think it helped clear some of the fog so that I could think more clearly. I am still on the meds and will take it for a year because the NICE guidelines for Generalized Anxiety Disorder and my GP suggest that recovery is more likely to be maintained this way.

      One of the things I do when I’m anxious is to ask other people for reassurance about decisions and I am still learning that the best way to become more confident is to make my own decisions. You can do it… what ever you decide… it’s just a decision! You can always change your mind, nothing is permanent.

      Do let us know how you get on.

      Very best

      Julie x

Leave a Reply

