Don’t let worry distract you

One of the things that seems to be true about anxiety or rumination is that it can make experiencing what your doing less pleasurable.  One thing I’ve read that seems to help is  when you drift into a worry, notice it; then refocus on what you were doing before you started to worry.   Sometimes it takes me lots of goes before getting back on track with what I want to do.  However, once I’m there there is a sense of achievement.  This idea came from the book Overcoming Worry by Mark Freeston and Kevin Meares.

I recently came across this quote which is on the same theme:

‘One disciple said: ‘My master stands on one side of the river.  I stand on the other holding a piece of paper.  He draws a picture in the air and the picture appears on my paper.  He works miracles.’

The other disciple said: ‘My master works even greater miracles that that,

Photo: Jason M, Stock.xchng

When he sleeps, he sleeps

When he eats, he eats

When he works, he works

When he meditates, he meditates.’  Zen Buddist’s story

So that’s a bit of a goal, to work on, being more present in the moment, which is sometimes referred to as mindfulness.

2 thoughts on “Don’t let worry distract you

  1. Hi, the sentiment behind this is so very poignant to me. I have GAD and my main symptom or should I say manifestation of the disorder tends to be an incessant worry that I have upset someone without knowing it or that if any confrontation occurs, or difference of opinion, that my relationship with that person is finished and ruined. It prevents me sometimes from living in the moment and enjoying what is right in front of me. I am very lucky to have someone special, but sometimes focus so much on analysing what they are saying and trying to find a negative that I forget to appreciate the moment.

    My anxiety appears to others as though I distrust them, when in reality it’s just a fear that everything will be taken away.

    The first step is recognition and it has been helpful to read other peoples experiences and know that I am not on my own in this.

    Thank you for starting this blog, I am sure it will prove useful to many people.

    Take care

    • Thank you for this very insightful and encouraging post.

      I totally relate to your comments about analysing. Sometimes my over analysing has driven others to distraction! However, I’ve started a few close friends that I have GAD and to bear with me while I learn not to analyse, so I can enjoy their company more.

      Do let me know how you get on – very best wishes

Leave a comment